February 28th, 2010

Me: on Ferris wheel 2012-09-09

New job

[I wrote this a few days ago, but have held off until posting it by now because I wanted to make sure everybody in the chain of command at work was in the loop before it hit the gossip circuit.]

Starting at the end of March, I’m going to be working at MIT’s Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory. This is going to be delightful in a lot of ways which I don’t have time to list, but two among them are (1) that I will be working with bubblebabble, and (2) that I will be working in Kendall Square, which is on the Red Line partway between my place and plumtreeblossom’s, which in turn is probably going to trim close an hour from my round-trip weekday commute. [EDIT: Google Maps doesn’t think it’s going to be that dramatic, but it’s certainly going to be a more restful and somewhat quicker commute.]

And I am excited to be working on a larger scale in a more complex and varied environment than I have been so far.
People: me with plumtreeblossom May 2007

Mare's resume

Know of any jobs my girlfriend Mare might be a good fit for? Her resume is online here. (Word or PDF version available on request.)
Summary
Eleven years of experience providing key support to executives, managers and departments. A project leader with sharp organizational skills and the proven ability to find unique solutions. Expertise includes:
  • Upper-tier executive support
  • MS Office Suite (Excel, Word, PowerPoint) PAC, SAP, Outlook, LotusNotes and more
  • Travel booking and coordination
  • Scheduling/calendaring
  • Notary Public
  • Online Research
  • Presentations, expense reports, and financial analysis
  • Office supervision and staff training
  • Generating correspondence and content
She is a truly kick-ass writer. She would also consider things like restaurant work (which she's done before, although not recently) or retail work.

She'd also be glad for odd jobs to help tide her over, if they can be done evenings or weekends and are on public transportation. She wrote, "I can clean your house, do your laundry, babysit, edit your paper, type something for you, walk your dog, pet-sit, do your mending, do web research that you're too busy to do, or anything else within my abilities. I will be frantically searching by day for any agency or employer to put me to work, but my time is available evenings and weekends for odd jobs." (And note that she's a notary public.) She'd also be grateful for recruiter or temp-agency leads.